Meet Our Visiting Scholars: Hirokazu Matsuo

Our School has a rich tradition of hosting academics from all over the world to study and pursue research at the U of M, working with faculty and their students on particular projects or in their labs. We are pleased to introduce Hirokazu Matsuo, M.A. from the University of Tsukuba, Ibaraki, Japan who is working with Dr. Yuhei Inoue during the 2016-17 school year.

matsuo_hirokazuWhere is your home and what is your hometown?
My home is in Japan. My hometown is Mombetsu, Hokkaido, the most northern island of Japan.

What is your educational background?
University of Tsukuba, Ibaraki, Japan
Ph.D. in Coaching, Expected March 2018, Major: Coaching Sciences
M.A. in Physical Education, March 2014, Major: Health and Sport Sciences
B.A. in Physical Education, March 2012, Major: Health and Physical Education

What is your field of study/research interests? What projects/interests would you like to explore while here at the U?
My field of study is coaching sciences and my research interests are collision sports (especially tackle football), prevent concussion in sports activities, and physical literacy.

Can you give an example of how you are working with your sponsoring faculty member on the project or projects?
I’m writing some reports for joint research with the University of Tsukuba, Japan with my sponsoring faculty member.

Do you see opportunities to work with other faculty on your research studies while you are at the U of M?
There is Dr. Inoue, who is a member of the joint research project with my teacher at the University of Tsukuba, Tsuyoshi Matsumoto. And the U of M has a great program of athletics. I want to learn the culture of college athletics in the U.S.

What prompted you to pursue coming to Minnesota and studying here?
I have visited Princeton University in New Jersey twice to participate in a football summer camp as a football player on an exchange program of the University of Tsukuba.

Do you have family back home? If so, can you tell us a bit about them?
My parents live in Hokkaido, Japan. My dad is a truck driver. He drives a long distance every day. My mom is a housewife. She is supporting my dad. And I have two older sisters. One sister is working as an interior designer and another sister is working as an office clerk. They are a great family, kind and full of love.

What is the best food experience you’ve had since being in the United States? Your least favorite?
I like to eat various types of food. American, Mexican, Chinese, Korean, Italian, German, Japanese…everything! I can eat anything I want to eat, when I want it, in Minneapolis. So I’m happy.

What kinds of activities do you like doing here in your spare time?
I want to be a voluntary staff member of the Gophers football program, if I can join it. And I will keep training at the gym to shape my body, because I might play football again after get back Japan.

What do you miss most about being away from home?
I miss my girlfriend, she is in Japan. It’s long distance.

How would you describe the U of M/Twin Cities to a friend from home who was thinking of coming here?
Winter in Minneapolis is so cold, but people at the U of M are so warm.

Leave a Reply

