Meet Our Visiting Scholars: Dr. Tao Liu

Each year the School of Kinesiology hosts several visiting scholars, who come to Minnesota from all over the world. Visiting scholars are sponsored by a faculty member, who mentors and supports their experience here. They bring valuable perspectives to our research and study while providing the Kinesiology community the opportunity to get to know and work with international scholars. 

tao-liuIn this issue of All Things Kinsidered, we introduce Dr. Tao Liu from Xiamen, Fujian province, China, who is working with Dr. Li Li Ji, director of the School of Kinesiology and the Laboratory of Physiological Hygiene and Exercise Science.

Where is your home and what is your hometown?
I come from Xiamen, Fujian province. I work at Jimei University. I was born in Qingdao, Shandong Province. I grew up there until I went to college in Chendu, Sichuan Province.

What is your educational background?
Chengdu Sport University with a Bachelor’s degree of medicine,  1997
Chengdu Sport University, Master’s degree of medicine, 2000
Beijing Sport University, Ph.D., 2009

What is your field of study/research interests? What projects/interests would you like to explore while here at the U?
My research focuses on the mitochondrial function in the cardiovascular system. Now I am working on a  project on the effect and the mechanism of olive oil in prevention of atherosclerosis here at the U of M.

Can you give an example of how you are working with your sponsoring faculty member on the project or projects?
I assist Dr. Ji’s Ph.D. student Tino [Tianou Zhang] in testing VO2 max for the subjects. I also take care of the animals for our study. I meet with other members in the lab meetings to share journal papers and new study progress.

What prompted you to pursue coming to Minnesota and studying here?
Dr. Ji is a famous expert of exercise physiology in the U.S. and China. My research has some similarities with Dr. Ji’s.

Do you have family back home? If so, can you tell us a bit about them?
My parents live in my hometown, Qingdao. My husband works in Xiamen. My husband came to visit us this summer. He loves the U.S., and he thinks the U.S. has a lot we need to learn about and respect.

What other places, if any, have you traveled to in the U.S. since being here?
I have traveled to Boston, New York, Washington, D.C., Chicago, and California.

What is the best food experience you’ve had since being in the United States? Your least favorite?
I love seafood, but we cannot get fresh seafood here. Honestly, I don’t like the U.S. food style.

What kinds of activities do you like doing here in your spare time?
Sometimes I go hiking near the Twin Cities. Sometimes we go canoeing and fishing.

What do you miss most about being away from home?
I have a lot of plants and flowers at home. When I leave, I am afraid they will die.

How would you describe the U of M/Twin Cities to a friend from home who was thinking of coming here?
I am so impressed with Minnesota nice, the clean environment, the safe community and the rigorous academic attitude.

Do you have anything else you’d like to share about your experience so far?
Everything is good so far.

Leave a Reply

