Meet Our Visiting Scholars: Dr. Kurumi Aizawa

Each year the School of Kinesiology hosts several visiting scholars, who come to Minnesota from all over the world. Visiting scholars are sponsored by a faculty member, who mentors and supports their experience here. They bring valuable perspectives to our research and study while providing the Kinesiology community the opportunity to get to know and work with international scholars. 

Our three visiting scholars in Kinesiology this fall are Kurumi Aizawa from Kobe, Japan; Liu Tao, from Xiamen, Fujian province, China; and Zinat Zarandi, from Mashhad, Iran. In this issue of All Things Kinsidered, we introduce Dr. Aizawa, who is working with Yuhei Inoue, assistant professor in Sport Management.

copy-of-aizawak-2016-largeWhere is your home and what is your hometown?
I’m from Japan and my hometown is Kobe.

What is your educational background?
I received a Ph.D. in sport science focusing on sport management from Waseda University.

What is your field of study/research interests? What projects/interests would you like to explore while here at the U?
My major is sport management and currently I am studying the impacts of sport events on sport participation.

Can you give an example of how you are working with your sponsoring faculty member on the project or projects?
I’m writing some academic papers with my sponsoring faculty and his doctoral students.

Do you see opportunities to work with other faculty on your research studies while you are at the U of M?
I have had plenty of opportunities to interact with other faculty both in classes and outside of the class.

What prompted you to pursue coming to Minnesota and studying here?
The biggest reason to move to Minnesota is that my husband is working at the U of M. It is really fortunate that U of M has also an ideal research environment for me.

Do you have family back home? If so, can you tell us a bit about them?
My parents live in Kobe, Japan. They are working internationally, especially in Asia.

What other places, if any, have you traveled to in the U.S. since being here?
I have traveled a lot, for example, New York, Boston, Philadelphia, San Francisco, and Orlando.

What is the best food experience you’ve had since being in the United States? Your least favorite?
I like Chipotle! Mexican food is not popular in Japan, so I did not think I could eat delicious Mexican food at a low price.

What kinds of activities do you like doing here in your spare time?
I often go to the lake and eat brunch there.

What do you miss most about being away from home?
I miss Japanese Food, especially Sushi.

How would you describe the U of M/Twin Cities to a friend from home who was thinking of coming here?
People at the U of M and in the Twin Cities are very friendly and I really like the beautiful Minnesota summer.

Leave a Reply

