Meet Our Adviser: Alyssa Maples

maplesa-2016-largeAlyssa, academic adviser in the School of Kinesiology, is a student-focused innovative professional. When she is not in Cooke Hall, she can be found whipping up a delicious plant-based dinner or running River Road as she trains for her next road race.

What is your role in the School of Kinesiology?

I am the departmental academic adviser for Bachelor of Science students in Recreation, Park and Leisure Studies and Sport Management. I also coordinate and advise for the following minors: Outdoor Recreation Education, Sport Management and Coaching. A new and exciting Health and Wellness Promotion Minor is in the works. I help students plan for their coursework in their major and their experiences such as internships and study abroad. I also admit and matriculate students in the minor programs and answer prospective degree program questions. I enjoy working with faculty to update the program curriculum or create new programs that best represent the industry and education trends while making our programs accessible to students.

How does your work impact students?

I am very passionate about students having a great experience academically, professionally, and personally in their undergraduate career. I work to make sure students feel connected with someone in their time here. It’s important. This can be a very big place and I just want to make sure students I work with feel cared about and supported.

What do you enjoy most about your job?

The students and faculty/staff that I work with. I enjoy watching students develop while they are at the U and become successful alums! It makes my heart sing. I enjoy that my department encourages our relationships in the office too. It’s great that happy hours, yoga on the lawn and working out or walking meetings are encouraged and scheduled.

People would be surprised if they knew?

I am a secret nerd who loves reading stories about supernatural things such as vampires. Right now I’m addicted to the Parasol Protectorate series.

What do you like to do in your spare time?

I love to cook healthy food. Right now I’m on a big plant-based eating kick, so it’s been fun to try new things without using any animal protein. I enjoy working out–I’ve recently become obsessed with barre and Pilates–and I enjoy taking my ugly dog, Brody, on walks. I am also a big fan of meeting friends for happy hour, bowling and relaxing with my Kindle.

Leave a Reply

