Student Feature: Jessica Weinel

 

Jessica Weinel 1

Our June feature is Jessica Weinel.

Get to know our undergraduate students as they are experiencing first-hand the programs at the School of Kinesiology. Each student has different experiences to share, such as internships, studying abroad and transferring in from a different college or field of study.

Jessica is a senior from Lakeville, MN studying sports management with a minor in mass communications. On campus, she works as a tour guide in the office of admissions and is an intern for Gopher Sports Marketing.

What made you choose your field of study?

It took a while for me to choose my field of study but after finding and taking the Intro Sport Management class, I really felt like I found the right place. The class allowed me to meet a lot of really great fellow students that wanted to take their interest in sports and turn it into a career, just like I did. It also led me to meeting Tiffany Richardson, who was able to open a lot of really great opportunities for me. Since then I’ve been able to study abroad in China, work the 2015 All-Star Game in the Green Team, and I’m currently interning in the Security and Facility Management Department at Major League Baseball.

What is your favorite thing about your field of study/the School of Kinesiology?

My favorite thing about my field of study is the people I get to meet and network with. My professors have all done great jobs in helping me advance my career and form my future while I’m still an undergrad. My classmates are also great and I feel that everyone’s mutual interest in sports helps us connect and help each other grow.

What advice do you have to students that are looking into the School of Kinesiology?

My advice for students looking into the School of Kinesiology and maybe even Sport Management is to get involved! My major and school have given me many opportunities and the key to starting those is to ask questions, get involved, and see where life takes you.

What advice do you have for students looking for an internship, and what advice do you have for them when they are in their internship?

unnamed[6]My advice for students looking for internships is to ask around. I have found that people are usually more than willing to talk about the experiences they have had in the past or are currently involved in, and that can give you valuable insight into what people are doing. I learned about the Gopher Sports Marketing internship through a coworker I had at the Office of Admissions and he was willing to also help me through the application process when the time came around. Professors are willing to help as well, but you have to be willing to take the first step and ask! Don’t be afraid to put yourself out there and talk to those who you think could help you. When in an internship, ask questions there too! Internships are great ways to learn about what people do and have done, so it’s a good idea to ask questions and learn everything while you can!

Watch the video in the link below to learn more about Jessica’s education and career experiences.

 

Leave a Reply

