Meet Our Adviser: Colin Rogness

RognessColin-2016large-2Welcome Colin Rogness, our newest Undergraduate Advising Coordinator for the Kinesiology program.

What inspired you to apply for the job in Kinesiology?

I come from a family of educators, athletic administrators, and coaches, so the importance of education, learning, growth, development, and service to others is an integral part of who I am and has been a consistent thread throughout my personal and professional life. Additionally, I believe that the vision and mission of the School and College are very much in line with my own.

What is your educational background and how has that prepared you for this job?

Educationally, I attended the University of St. Thomas where I earned a Bachelor of Arts degree in Psychology and also a Master of Arts degree in Counseling Psychology, with a focus on Career and Academic Counseling.

Where have you worked previously?

I have over 15 years of experience within higher education, providing Academic Advising, Career Counseling, Admissions, and Support Services to several diverse university populations at the University of St. Thomas, the University of Denver, and Western Illinois University. I also previously served as an Academic Adviser at the University of Minnesota within CEHD Student Services for a number of the Initial Licensure and Master of Education degree programs.

What are your responsibilities in this position? 

I will be serving as the Departmental Academic Adviser for students in the B.S. Kinesiology program. I will be working with students on major course questions and planning, focused electives, internship, practicum, and applied experiences in the major, and research opportunities in the major. My office is located in Room 107B Cooke Hall and I can be reached via email: rogne027@umn.edu or via telephone: 612.301.5265.

Could you tell me a little about your personal life? 

I am married and we have a 3 year old son, we also have a Chocolate Labrador and a cat. I am originally from Mankato, Minnesota and have lived in the Twin Cities for most of my post college years, but have also lived in Colorado and Illinois.

What do you like do in your spare time?

I enjoy spending time with friends and family, being active outside, hiking, camping, canoeing, and snowboarding. I also enjoy traveling and watching any Minnesota sports teams.

Please share a parting thought.

I truly enjoy working in higher education and I am dedicated to supporting all students in their holistic development by helping them explore and realize their educational and life goals. I am thankful for the opportunity to return to the University of Minnesota and it is a great honor to join the School of Kinesiology.

Leave a Reply

